Quick Answer: Can You Jump A Ball In Snooker?

What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?

The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket.

If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table..

What determines a free ball in snooker?

A free ball is a player-nominated substitute for the ball “on” when a player becomes snookered as the result of a foul committed by the opponent.

Can you jump the cue ball in 8 ball?

While “cue ball fouls only” is the rule of play when a match is not presided over by a referee, a player should be aware that it will be considered a cue ball foul if during an attempt to jump, curve or masse the cue ball over or around an impeding numbered ball that is not a legal object ball, the impeding ball moves …

Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?

note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.

Do pool balls get old?

The average billiard balls wear out after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.

Can you snooker behind a free ball?

Re: Free Ball you can not roll behind a free ball for a snooker because as soon as that colour ball becomes a free ball it becomes the object ball ie red yellow etc etc so you cant snooker on a red behind a effective red the free ball.

What happens if a snooker is impossible to escape from?

It is Section 3., Rule 14., (a) (iii) if you care to look it up but in essence it says that if the situation is such that an escape is literally impossible, then Foul and a Miss shall NOT be called provided that the White is played with sufficient strength toward the ball on to reach it if not for the obstruction.

Can you hit backwards in snooker?

If you play the 2 shot rule, you cannot shoot backwards. This changes from person to person/area to area. Best just display the rules, and everybody conforms to whatever is displayed. anyway check this Snooker Rules … plus other links within…

Can you jump a ball in pool?

In all pocket billiard games, when a stroke results in the cue ball or any object ball being a jumped ball off the table, the stroke is a foul. All jumped object balls are spotted (except in 8 and 9-Ball) when all balls have stopped moving.

Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball first?

When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. On an open table, all pocketed balls remain pocketed.