- What ball goes on the dot in pool?
- Is it a scratch if you don’t hit any balls?
- Where does the white ball go after a scratch?
- What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
- What happens when the cue ball doesn’t hit anything?
- What order do the pool balls go?
- What is the correct way to rack pool balls?
- How do you place pool balls in a triangle?
- What happens if you put the white ball in pool?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- When can you move the cue ball in 8 ball?
- What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Can you place the white ball anywhere in pool?
- Can you move the cue ball after a foul?
- What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
- What happens if you sink the white ball after the black?
What ball goes on the dot in pool?
Line the apex (the first ball) up with the middle diamond on the side of the pool table.
The center of the first ball should be in the middle of the table at one quarter of the length.
Some tables have this spot marked with a small dot.
Make sure that the balls are tightly packed together..
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit any balls?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket.
Where does the white ball go after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens if you don’t call your pocket in pool?
If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot. One way or another, your turn is forfeited to the next player.
What happens when the cue ball doesn’t hit anything?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
What order do the pool balls go?
The order of the balls should be random, with the exceptions of the 8 ball, which must be placed in the center of the rack (i.e., the middle of the third row), and the two back corner balls, one of which must be a stripe and the other a solid. The cue ball is placed anywhere the breaker desires behind the head string .
What is the correct way to rack pool balls?
The first ball must be placed at the apex position (front of the rack and so the center of that ball is directly over the table’s foot spot ). The two corner balls must be a stripe and a solid. All balls other than the 8 ball are placed at random, but in conformance with the preceding corner ball rule.
How do you place pool balls in a triangle?
Roll the balls in the triangle towards the dot to position them and make sure the Yellow ball is over the dot on the table. Making sure the balls are tightly packed together lift the triangle off and break off.
What happens if you put the white ball in pool?
When the Cue Ball, that is, the white ball is pocketed, generally inadvertently, it is called a “scratch” or “table scratch” and is considered a foul.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
When can you move the cue ball in 8 ball?
In the event of a foul call, the opposing player receives cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. This means that the player can place the cue ball anywhere on the table (the cue ball does not have to be behind the headstring except on opening break or immediately after a foul on the break).
What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Can you place the white ball anywhere in pool?
The white ball should be placed anywhere behind the service line on the table. If it is the first game in a match, a coin should be tossed to decide who gets to choose whether to break. After that, the break is taken in turns.
Can you move the cue ball after a foul?
PENALTY FOLLOWING ANY FOUL If the cue ball has come to rest on the playing surface, then the player having two visits may proceed to play from where the cue ball lies, or the cue ball may be played from any position on or behind the baulk line. Moving the cue ball in this manner does not count as a shot, or visit.
What happens if you hit the wrong ball in 9 ball?
“Wrong Ball First” and “No Rail” fouls are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player may play the next shot, or may pass the shot to the opponent. A player is entitled to continue shooting until he fails to legally pocket a ball.
What happens if you sink the white ball after the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.