- What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
- What balls can you hit after a scratch?
- What happens when you scratch on the break?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- Does the 8 Ball have to go in clean?
- Do u lose if u scratch on break?
- Do you pull a ball out on a scratch?
- What are the odds of sinking the 8 ball on the break?
- What happens if the 8 ball goes in?
- What happens if you scratch on the ball before the 8 ball?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- What happens if you miss the 8 ball on the last shot?
- Is it a scratch if you don’t hit any balls?
- Is hitting the 8 ball a scratch?
- Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next.
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul.
It is simply your opponent’s turn now..
Is ball in hand a real rule?
3.40 CUE BALL IN HAND FOUL During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.
What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
What balls can you hit after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens when you scratch on the break?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
Does the 8 Ball have to go in clean?
a) It is never necessary to specify details such as the number of banks, kisses, caroms, rails, etc. My reading of this is that as long as your 8-ball went into the pocket you called it was legal. Pocketing the 8-ball isn’t treated differently than pocketing any other ball in this respect.
Do u lose if u scratch on break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Do you pull a ball out on a scratch?
The Billiard Congress of America defines a scratch — a shot on which the cue ball is pocketed — as a foul. Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn.
What are the odds of sinking the 8 ball on the break?
The data showed this happening 5.9% of the time (vs. 0.8% for a 1st-ball break). If you play under rules where making the 8 on the break is a win (e.g., in the APA league system), the 2nd-ball break might be a good option because of the huge potential payoff of winning on the break.
What happens if the 8 ball goes in?
If the player pockets the 8 ball and commits a foul or pockets it into another pocket than the one designated, then the player loses the game. Otherwise (i.e., if the 8 ball is neither pocketed nor knocked off the table) the shooter’s turn is simply over, even if a foul occurs.
What happens if you scratch on the ball before the 8 ball?
But simply fouling/scratching while shooting at the 8 ball is not game over. It only gives ball in hand anywhere on the table, just like all fouls before it. … Legally pocket the 8-ball without fouling into a called pocket as a separate shot after clearing the table of your assigned group.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
Imagine my black over hole being covered with opponent’s ball and I have ball in hand. I must call opponent’s ball to pot black for win as unable to hit black directly with white. 8-ball made on an illegal shot: As player 1 has called 8-ball and the pocket, he cannot make contact with any other ball first.
What happens if you miss the 8 ball on the last shot?
When playing the 8-ball, you scratch. Note: If you are shooting at the 8-ball and miss it altogether without scratching, you have fouled and your opponent has ball-in-hand, but you don’t lose because of this foul. f. A game is forfeited if you alter the course of the 8-ball or the cue ball in a game losing situation.
Is it a scratch if you don’t hit any balls?
When a player fails to hit any object ball with the cue ball, it’s considered a table scratch. The same goes for an object ball that fails to touch either a cushion or a pocket.
Is hitting the 8 ball a scratch?
If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. … The third infraction will result in loss of game.
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).